Rawalpindi, Pakistan

City and capital of Rawalpindi division and district, N Punjab, 90 mi ESE of Peshawar. Founded by Sikhs in 1765, it became an important British military station after their occupation of the Punjab in 1849. On August 8, 1919, a treaty was signed here by Great Britain and Afghanistan that ended the Third Afghan War. It was the temporary capital of Pakistan between 1959 and 1970.

Places of interest in Rawalpindi

Explore every corner in Pakistan